Buffalo Broadcasters Association honors student achievement in media

Joseph Scordo, Social Media Editor

Joana Leamon, a media production major at Buffalo State College, was presented with the Tim Russert Media Career Award at the Buffalo Broadcasters Association 2021 Hall of Fame Ceremony on Nov. 4.

Leamon has distinguished herself through her videography, editing and commitment to her career path.

“Joana is a straight-A honors student at Buffalo State and a regular on the dean’s list. She is active in BSC-TV and WBNY, the campus television club and radio station,” said Annemarie Franczyk, an associate professor of journalism at SUNY Buffalo State College in her remarks at the Hall of Fame ceremony.

Named after Tim Russert, a journalist and lawyer who is remembered for his 16 years spent as a moderator of NBC’s “Meet the Press,” this award is given annually to a student who demonstrates that they have a promising future in media.

“I wish Mr. Russert could have met [Joana]. He would have been so impressed by her accomplishments to date!” Deborah Silverman, the chair and associate professor of communication at SUNY Buffalo State College, wrote in an email.

The 2021 Hall of Fame Ceremony also marked the 25th anniversary of the Buffalo Broadcasters Association.

The mission of the Buffalo Broadcasters Association is to preserve the history of broadcasting in Buffalo, and “encourage quality broadcasting” into the future by holding lectures, public events, arranging student mentorships and recognizing excellence in broadcasting.

The Buffalo Broadcasters Association has had a close relationship with the SUNY Buffalo State College Department of Communication.

The most recent collaboration between the Buffalo Broadcasting Association and the Buffalo State College Department of Communication is “Broadcasting Buffalo,” a TV series, which gives students real world experience in working with professionals to create a program to air on local television.

Patrick Ryan of SUNY at Fredonia, who studied politics and journalism, was also recognized for his achievements and also presented with the Tim Russert Media Career Award.

In attendance were distinguished guests including Buffalo State College President Dr. Conway-Turner, actor William Fichtner and Mayor Byron Brown.